LOGAN REVIEW AVAILABLE ON SCENESTR

Scenestr2

I have had another film review published online at Scenestr and as a result can’t post it on WordPress. I did not plan on this happening again so soon but am really pleased that it has so if you would like to read my thoughts on the film please click on the following link http://scenestr.com.au/news/movies-and-tv/logan-review-20170309

Produced by Eyeball Media Enterprises Scenestr. is an online national magazine with local offices around Australia. With over twenty years of publishing history they’ve excelled at moving into the digital realm but they remain at heart from the streets. They also publish Scene magazine in print every month focussed mostly on music gigs, festivals, stand-up comics, fashion and interviews with local and international bands. If you’re into music they’re a great read but they do cover all of the arts and fortunately for me they also feature the occasional film review online too.

-Lloyd Marken

28 comments on “LOGAN REVIEW AVAILABLE ON SCENESTR

  1. beetleypete says:

    Good review as always, Lloyd. I have enjoyed Jackman in many roles, but I avoid comic book films, as you know. I did watch ‘Wolverine’ on TV though, and thought it was one of the worst films I had seen in twenty years! I even went so far as to give it a bad review on my blog. So, I doubt I will be watching ‘Logan’, even allowing for the change in pace.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    • Lloyd Marken says:

      I think given your dislike of comic book films that is fair enough. I will reiterate from the review and as you alluded to this is more a Western than a comic book film with something to say about ageing and mortality and family. It is worthy to me of a gander but my friend I saw it with found it depressing. 🙂 A good indicator would be this, I did not care for X-Men Origins: Wolverine, the first stand alone film. In fact I was pretty pissed about the missed opportunity of it and you may recall my review of X-Men Apocalypse last year was not overwhelming positive. If you saw Wolverine and hated then maybe give this one a chance. If you are referring to The Wolverine which was the second stand alone film and also directed by Logan’s director James Mangold then maybe steer clear of this one. I felt The Wolverine was pretty good although I think the freedom of this being the last film made them push creative boundaries and deliver more in this final film. Logan really is the best and most unique. Coincidentally the first Wolverine film was directed by Gavin Hood who made Eye in the Sky which I really enjoyed.

    • Lloyd Marken says:

      Thank you for checking out the review Pete, I’m glad you liked it.

  2. GP Cox says:

    Went over and read your review, Lloyd – great synopsis without too much info – just enough to spark interest in the film. Great job as always.

    • Lloyd Marken says:

      Thanks GP, the reviews I’ve submitted to Scenestr are less self-indulgent. I try to put forward an opinion, articulate a little of why and then close by repeating whether its good. I don’t know if they lack less personality or are less fun to read so I’m glad you liked it and enjoyed the shorter review.

  3. Jay says:

    Good for you!

  4. Excellent review, Lloyd. Congratulations. 😉

  5. John Charet says:

    Great post 🙂 I have not seen Logan yet, but I think it is awesome that this was your second review that was posted on Scenestr. To have a review published on a website must be fantastic 🙂 Anyway, keep up the great work as always 🙂

    • Lloyd Marken says:

      Thank you John, I am very grateful for the opportunity and it has been a pleasant surprise. The confidence to try has come from blogging and the support I get here for my writing.

  6. vinnieh says:

    I’m so happy they put your review in their magazine. You deserve it.

  7. Jordan Dodd says:

    Congrats mate! 🙂 🙂

  8. Awesome job with your review over at Scenestr. I have to admit I was cautiously optimistic going into Logan but it turned out swell. Hope to say the same about Wonder Woman. 🙂

Leave a Reply

